Callaghan & Callaghan – Attorneys – Rhode Island

 

 

Call (401) 294-4555

 

 

3 Brown Street
Wickford, RI 02852

South Kingstown DUI Attorney

South Kingstown DUI DWI OUI Attorneys

Rely on the attorneys at Callaghan & Callaghan for expert defense of any South Kingstown DUI DWI OUI charge.

Callaghan & Callaghan’s South Kingstown DUI attorneys get results. As former state and municipal prosecutors, James M. Callaghan and Matthew F. Callaghan, Jr. draw on decades of experience defending all DUI or breathalyzer refusal charges.

We are dedicated to defending the rights of every client. Make sure you know your rights in all DUI and alcohol related stops. Call (401) 284-7750 for an immediate consultation.

DUI DWI OWI and Breathalyzer Refusal related charges all potentially carry severe consequences. Any of these charges can result in jail time, a loss of license, and affect your employment.  Do not leave anything to chance. Get expert representation from Callaghan & Callaghan as soon as possible.

South Kingstown is one of Rhode Island’s largest communities. South Kingstown Police, University of Rhode island Police, and the Rhode Island State Police all patrol South Kingstown. Callaghan & Callaghan has been advocating on behalf of clients charged with alcohol related offenses in South County for decades.

The attorneys at Callaghan & Callaghan, Matthew F. Callaghan Jr., and James M. Callaghan, formerly prosecuted DUI/Breathalyzer refusal matters for the town of Narragansett and the State of Rhode Island respectively.  Callaghan & Callaghan will examine your case with the eye of the prosecuting authority. Through an in depth and exhaustive review of all the police reports, witness statements, and chemical test results we will identify issues may result in a favorable disposition of a DUI charge.

Alcohol related driving charges, such as DUI and Refusal to Submit to a Chemical test, are complicated for a variety of reasons. Callaghan & Callaghan has the knowledge experience to effectively navigate the complexities of all aspects of a DUI charge.

Every DUI case demands an experienced and aggressive attorney. As the result of one traffic stop, the State or a town can potentially charge a driver in two separate and distinct courts.  A person suspected of driving under the influence can be charged in criminal court with Driving Under the Influence (Rhode Island General Law 31-27-2).

And if a driver refuses to submit to chemical test as a result of the same traffic stop, charges can be filed at the Rhode Island Traffic Tribunal.  That charge, Refusal to Submit to a Chemical test can be found at Rhode Island General Law 31-27-2.1.

DUI/Breathalyzer Refusal cases demand that police officers write their reports with great care and detail. They must ensure that they record identifiers for reasonable suspicion for the stop, any indicia of alcohol (bloodshot/watery eyes, odor of alcohol, flushed face), and they must make sure that all failures in field sobriety tests (walk and turn, one legged stand, HGN test) are duly noted. Each aspect of a DUI/Breathalyzer Refusal could hold the key to unlocking a weakness in a drunk driving case.

Call Callaghan & Callaghan for an expert and experienced assessment of any alcohol related driving charge.

Rhode Island DUI Penalties: RIGL 31-27-2

  • 1st Offense – No Readings:
  • Up to one year in prison
  • 3 to 12 month loss of license
  • $100 to $400 fine
  • 10 to 60 hours community service
  • DUI school and/or alcohol or drug treatment program

1st Offense – Chemical Blood Alcohol Readings between .08%-.10%

  • Up to one year in prison
  • 30 days to 180 days loss of driver’s icense
  • $100 to $300 fine
  • 10 to 60 hours community service
  • DUI school and/or alcohol or drug treatment program

1st Offense – Chemical Blood Alcohol Readings between .10%-.15%

  • Up to one year in prison
  • 3 months to 12 months suspension of driver’s license
  • $100 to $400 fine
  • 10 hours to 60 hours community service
  • DUI school and/or alcohol or drug treatment program

1st Offense – Chemical Blood Alcohol Readings between above .15%

  • Up to one year in prison
  • 3 months to 18 months suspension of driver’s license
  • $500 fine
  • 20 hours to 60 hours community service
  • DUI school and/or alcohol or drug treatment program

Refusal to Submit to a Chemical Test – RIGL 21-27-2.1

  • 6 months to 1 year license suspension
  • $200 to $500 fine
  • 10 hours to 60 hours community service
  • DUI school and/or drug or alcohol treatment
Print Friendly, PDF & Email